In the past the place was called Argelata; this name is linked to the clayey ground and to the banks (argini) built to contain the over-flows of the Reno River.
Immersed in the tranquillity and vast horizons of the plains, the territory of Argelato is enriched by a chain of historical residences in a ring of a few kilometres: Villa Beatrice in Argelato, Villa Zambonelli and Palazzo Orsi (with its imposing 16th-century porticoed faςade) in Funo, Palazzo della Morte (called today Palazzo del Vignola) on the road to the village of Casadio, and Palazzo Sampieri Talon in Volta Reno.
The Ferruccio Lamborghini Museum, set inside a former plant situated in Funo, tells the history of the "raging bull" myth.
The Church of San Michele Arcangelo, which dates back to the year 1000, used to belong to Countess Matilde of Canossa. As an alternative to the provincial roads - preferred by motorbike enthusiasts - the territory offers a complex network of country roads, ideal for long excursions by bicycle, among ancient pulping basins for the elaboration of hemp, devotional columns and rows of poplars.
Malacappa is a miniscule place with a particular atmosphere, being enclosed between the Reno and the high embankment, which embraces it sinuously.
In the village of Funo, there are important infrastructures, such as the Interporto and CenterGross, one of the largest wholesale outlets in Europe.
Wine lovers cannot miss a visit to the Cantina di Argelato (Argelato cellars), where are produced wines with the Reno Denomination of Controlled Origins (DOC).
The Guglielmo Marconi Airport is about 15 km. from Argelato.
The Aerobus BLQ connects every 15-30 minutes the airport to the city centre and to the central station. Piazza XX Settembre stop to get a bus towards Argelato.
Piazza della Resistenza, 1 - 40050 Funo
Ph. +39 051 6634679
Fax +39 051 6634676